- This topic has 8 replies, 2 voices, and was last updated 2 years, 3 months ago by Bryle Crodua.
August 4, 2021 at 10:44 pm #1193961KermitParticipant
There’s an existing problem with backups to remote storage. If something goes wrong before the backup completes, it will leave all the files in local storage.
Tuesday one of my client sites had this problem. It then restarted the backup. By the time it was done trying and restarting it used up nearly 80gbs of storage, crashed the server, and corrupted the database.
I was able to manually restore corrupted tables to the database and then restore back after deleting all those files.
But there should be an option to tell UPD to remove ALL local backup files and logs before starting a new backup.
Kermit WoodallAugust 4, 2021 at 10:44 pm #1193962KermitParticipantThis reply has been marked as moderator-only.August 5, 2021 at 1:10 am #1194067Bryle CroduaModerator
If you want to delete local backups, you can choose the option “Delete local backups” from UpdraftPlus > Settings > Show expert settings, This will remove local backups after the backups are sent to your remote storage.
Make sure that you already have a remote storage setup because by default UpdraftPlus will save the backups to your local server if there are no remote storage setup.
BryleAugust 5, 2021 at 2:15 am #1194093KermitParticipant
Yes, I’m aware of that. But since this problem occurs because the backups don’t finish and don’t complete sending to remote storage, they don’t get deleted locally.August 5, 2021 at 6:53 am #1194235Bryle CroduaModerator
That is how UpdraftPlus is designed. UpdraftPlus will only delete the backup on your local storage when the backup is successfully sent to your remote storage because if UpdraftPlus deletes it first and fails to send to your remote storage you will end up with incomplete backup.
BryleAugust 5, 2021 at 7:44 pm #1194715KermitParticipant
That’s not great design. Your reliance on successful backups being transferred to remote storage means that incomplete backups will be left on local storage. Which has caused our site to crash multiple times.
Would it be so difficult to add an extra option to check BEFORE backing up that local storage is clear?
Kermit WoodallAugust 6, 2021 at 7:27 am #1195057Bryle CroduaModerator
“incomplete backups will be left on local storage”
> Sorry for the confusion. UpdraftPlus will create a full/complete backup of your site first and store it on your local server. If you have set UpdraftPlus to delete local backups then it will delete the backup once it is successfully sent to your remote storage.
UpdraftPlus also has email notification tool that should notify when you an error or warning is experienced by UpdraftPlus. You should set it up so you get instant updates.
Sorry, but no option for checking before backing up local storage.
BryleAugust 6, 2021 at 4:58 pm #1195377KermitParticipant
Bryle, could you just forward my request for this as a new feature to the developers?
Kermit WoodallAugust 7, 2021 at 12:11 pm #1195816Bryle CroduaModerator
Yes, will forward your request to our team. They will evaluate if the features is possible.
- The topic ‘Needs option to delete local storage before backup’ is closed to new replies.