Backup/Restore – WordPress Version Mismatch

UpdraftPlus Home Forums Paid support forum – UpdraftPlus backup plugin Backup/Restore – WordPress Version Mismatch

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    rpaluszak
    Participant

I am new to Updraft and to using the backup/restore to clone a website. The image I am using to build a new site has installed WordPress 5.4.2. The site I want to migrate, was upgraded to 5.5.1. After I build a new wordpress site using my image, I install the latest version of Updraft, so both the source and destination site have the same version of Updraft Premium.

When I restore, the source host to my clone host, I get the following message. “You are importing from a newer version of WordPress (5.5.1) into an older one (5.4.2). There are no guarantees that WordPress can handle this.” I made the assumption that the restore would overwrite the older WordPress with the wordpress version from the source host. I am not ready to build a new image with the latest WordPress. As a best practice, should I upgrade WordPress on the destination host, before doing the restore?

rpaluszak
    Participant
    This reply has been marked as moderator-only.
    Bryle Crodua

Hi,

UpdraftPlus will only restore the WP core files if you include the WP core in the restoration.

I would suggest using the same WP version before restoring and upgrade everything after restore to avoid any issues with the migration.
    I believe you have the option to choose what WP version to use on your web hosting?

Regards,
    Bryle

rpaluszak
    Participant

Thanks.

I am self hosting, so I can choose the WP version I want.

The image I am using, was built with WordPress 5.4.2. Later this year, I will build a new host image with a newer version of WordPress.

The source site that I am sending the backup from is using WP 5.5.1 and I am selecting all items to be sent, including the WP Core Files, as I am cloning the site for testing of changes.