Currently when doing a site restoration/migration, all database entries are restored/replaced in the target. This means if you had any specific plugin configuration (such as Google Analytics IDs, Yoast configuration, etc) this will be replaced by the incoming restore set. This may be fine in some situations, but when migrating between environment tiers (ie, production, staging and QA) you will lose the environment-specific config.
I’d like to be able to specify that certain records aren’t restored; rather than the only option at the moment which is to prevent whole database tables from being backed up in the first place. (we still want the whole site to be backed up, we just don’t necessarily always want to restore the whole thing)
Your best bet might be to write a small script that adjusts the backup. The backups are standard SQL files… so, if you know that there are particular rows in particular tables that you want to adjust, then you can edit that in the backup prior to restore.
Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
The topic ‘Selective database restore’ is closed to new replies.